Meet 4 Families from Alaska />

  <header role=

Meet 4 Families from Alaska

Christine M. of Alaska

We are a family of 4 and homeschool. We have a small hobby farm of ducks and chickens, and sell eggs. We have lots of rescue cats, dogs, doves and a bunny as well! I run a small daycare out of my house.


Lisa P. of Wasilla, Alaska

Seven kids and a dog. Ages 20,18,14,10,9,7,3. I’m a piano teacher, husband works in construction.


Julia of Willow, Alaska

Adam G. runs a freight and fabrication business.

Bruce is working very hard at reading in second grade when he is not outside playing or drawing in his sketchbook.

Imogen is learning her letters and numbers in preschool when she is not painting or playing with her baby sister

Snow is learning to talk. 😁

And they chase after our dog Magnum.


Rana C. of Kasilof, Alaska

3 kids, 2 kittens, 2 dogs, my husband who is a disabled navy veteran, and myself.


How do you Timberdoodle?

Christina: I have not used Timberdoodle. I first heard about Timberdoodle at a curriculum fair for our homeschooling program.

Lisa: My son is doing Av-STEM Aviation right now and living it!

Julia: I first heard about Timberdoodle when I was researching homeschooling ideas. I love all the hands-on books and games. 

Rana: We’ve been using Timberdoodle for over 5 years. Since Pre-K with our eldest child.


Tell us about a typical school day at your house.

Christina: We usually wake up early, get dressed and ready for the day. We then eat breakfast as well. Afterwards, school usually begins around 8:30 a.m. We follow a schedule with breaks, snacks and meals throughout the school day. We cover basic subjects like math, science, language arts and social studies every day and alternate days for art and PE.

Lisa: We start at nine, the littlest ones do 1st and 2nd grades until noon. We take a break for lunch. I finish up the afternoon with my older kids 8th and 5th. At 3:00 I go downstairs to my studio to teach piano until 6:00. Then I come up to make dinner. We read aloud each evening after dinner. Two nights a week my oldest takes the kids to their Taekwondo class.

Julia: We start just after breakfast, depending on the day. We read, write and work on math at the very least every school day.We make lunch and then play for a bit. Then household chores together before working on dinner.

Rana: Since we live in Alaska there is no such thing as typical. We try to cover math, handwriting, and geography everyday.

If we peeked inside your home on a random Wednesday afternoon, what would we see?

Christina: My children at the dining room table doing school or eating lunch.

Lisa: I would be grading math on Wednesday afternoon and going over needed corrections.

Julia: If you showed up on a random Wednesday afternoon, you would find a toddler running around like a crazy person. My 4-year-old would be working in one of her workbooks and my 7-year-old would be drawing in his sketchbook or playing outside.

Rana: Chaos as we get ready for hockey!

If you could take your family anywhere you wanted for vacation where would you go?

Christina: To an ocean beach.

Lisa: To another country. All of them, but a tour of Europe first.

Rana: On a cross country road trip.


What books have you read over and over?

Christina: Harry Potter


  • Lord of the Rings
  • The Chronicles of Narnia
  • My Father's Dragon
  • anything by Elizabeth Enright

Rana: The DaVinci Code


What dietary challenges does your family face?

Christina: We are vegetarian and gluten free. The challenges we face are expenses and preparing meals before we leave the house since options are limited.

Lisa: Staying on task. No idea how to do this myself.


What tips do you have for surviving a hard day?

Christina: Warm cups of coffee, tea and hot cocoa always makes me feel better during hard days.

Lisa: Coffee, knitting projects.

Rana: Alaska medicine.


What’s something your child has done that thrilled your soul?

Christina: Thanked me for everything they've learned and said they're so smart because I taught them.

Lisa: Serving in the mission field.

Rana: Helps others.


How does your family celebrate birthdays?

Christina: We do low key family and close friend parties.

Lisa: Simple. Cake, a couple presents and a family party. Landmark birthdays we have a bigger party with friends.

Rana: Helping others.


What have you done recently for the first time?

Christina: Organized the entire remaining school for my 3 children.

Lisa: Visited the Big Island of Hawaii.

Rana: Hockey.