Meet MaryAnne K. of California />

  <header role=

Meet MaryAnne K. of California

Besides me, there's my husband Mike, 13-year-old Emma, 12-year-old Johnny, 10-year-old Lily, and 7-year-old Anna. And our dog Cali and hamster Puff. We have a fish tank but we need to add some fish to it.

Follow me on Instagram:

How do you Timberdoodle?

I don't even remember how I discovered Timberdoodle, but I've loved having this website as a resource for years as a way to discover high quality educational products for my family. The Math-U-See manipulatives are one of my favorite products, but Thinking Putty probably gets played with the most in our home!

Tell us about a typical school day at your house.

My kids are pretty well trained to go through lists of assignments, but sometimes we need reminders. They are in charge of making their own lunches, and they all have instruments that they have to practice and play. They get quite a bit of say as to when they get free time in the middle of all of that so long as they are consistently getting everything done! Sometimes they don't get everything done and then I start to supervise more until they become self-sufficient again. Some of my kids work almost completely independently, but others want me sitting right next to them every step of the way.

If we peeked inside your home on a random Wednesday afternoon, what would we see?

Wednesday afternoons are my crazy day! One child has a piano lesson, three have choir (three different choirs, ack!), one child has a voice lesson. Somewhere in there my 13-year-old daughter usually cooks dinner, and there's always a lot of laughter. Plus practicing. Schoolwork doesn't happen much on Wednesday afternoons - it's usually all done in the morning.

If you could take your family anywhere you wanted for vacation where would you go?

To Grandma's house. She lives on the other side of the country, and we don't see her enough! My parents are awesome at creating a relaxed home environment where we can just enjoy their company. Plus they live on a lake that we can go kayaking on.

What books have you read over and over?
  • The Bible
  • The Gruffalo
  • Press Here
What dietary challenges does your family face?

We cannot eat gluten so we don't eat out a lot.

What tips do you have for surviving a hard day?

Hot chocolate, photos of things I like, and deep breaths!

What’s something your child has done that thrilled your soul?

Thrown their arms around me at the end of a long day.

How does your family celebrate birthdays?

The kids decide, and it's always a little bit different!

What have you done recently for the first time?

Started writing guitar songs.