Meet Amanda of New Oxford, Pennsylvania />

  <header role=

Meet Amanda of New Oxford, Pennsylvania

Hi there! We are a family of 5, but soon to be 6 through adoption. We have two dogs  who are a part of our family also. It's Mom, Dad, Leeila and Avia. Our two dogs are Bentley and Tucker. Leeila loves learning by doing and experience. Avia loves tracing and learning her letters. Both girls love being outside and exploring nature.

How do you Timberdoodle?

We love Timberdoodle. The hands-on approach to learning is perfect for our family and keeps the girls excited to learn. I first heard of you through searching for curriculum for my girls. I can't say I have a favorite product because they are all so wonderful but I do love the art options for kids and the games such as Little Red Riding Hood and Smart Farmer.

Tell us about a typical school day at your house.

We do about an hour each day of work and it's usually broken up in small chunks throughout the day. We cover different subjects each day but usually try to incorporate reading writing and math each day. Chores are usually done at night after dinner.

If we peeked inside your home on a random Wednesday afternoon, what would we see?

During nice weather we would probably be outside or at the library. If it's yucky outside they would probably be tumbling on their tumble mat or playing games.

Fun Questions

If you could take your family anywhere you wanted for vacation where would you go?

I wish I could take them to Hawaii.

What books have you read over and over?

  • The Bible
  • Usborne books
  • Don't Push the Button

What dietary challenges does your family face?

Leeila has sensory issues so food can be a challenge but we are constantly trying new ways to incorporate healthy choices.

What tips do you have for surviving a hard day?

Take a breath, talk about it, and remember your blessings.

What's something your child has done that thrilled your soul?

Wanting to help others.

How does your family celebrate birthdays?

We have a family get-together.

What have you done recently for the first time?

Took an online tutor class for Korean.

What's your favorite school day lunch?

Going to Chick-fil-A.

How would you manage if you had to homeschool without the internet?

Library and other local resources.

What tips do you have for other families? 

Find a homeschool group to have support.

What is something you appreciate about each of your kids?

They each have unique personalities that bring me joy. One is serious and likes to be the caregiver. The other loves being silly and laughter.

What song is currently in your head?

Twinkle Twinkle Little Star

Tell us about your family’s favorite games.

We love board games.

What is your exercise routine and how often do you do it?

As a family we try to keep busy. Me, personally, I exercise 6 days a week about 30 minutes to an hour.

What hard thing are you planning to do this year?

Travel to Korea as a family.

What did you do just for fun with your kids recently?

Made glitter pictures.

What would you name your boat if you had one?

Saving Hope.

If you could learn a new skill, what would it be?


What’s the last recipe you looked up?


What apps do you use the most?

  • Facebook
  • LingoDeer
  • .mail

If you could sum up your homeschool style or philosophy in one phrase what would it be?

Learn through experience.

What do your kids want to be when they grow up?

A mom and a musketeer.

If you have a moment to yourself what do you like to do?

Read, exercise.

What’s your favorite school day breakfast?


What’s the best homeschool field trip you’ve ever been on?

Hands-On House.

The grocery store cashier asks, “But what about socialization?” What do you say?

I socialize my dog. My kids get experiences.

What do you do for fun as a family?

Go on adventures.

How do you continue to educate yourself?


What’s the biggest challenge you’ve overcome in homeschooling?

Staying organized.

What is your favorite thing about having kids?

They bring laughter and joy.

What’s the best vacation you have ever taken as a family?

Camping at a local Yogi Bear resort.

What’s your favorite in-a-pinch dinner option?


What’s the strangest place you’ve done school?

The car.

Tell us something unique or unusual about your family.

We are adopting internationally.

What’s making you laugh these days?

The jokes my kids tell.

What do you do for P.E. in your homeschool?

Play outside or set up an obstacle course in the house.

What’s your best time of day to homeschool?

The morning.

Tell us something interesting about your local area.

We are close to Gettysburg.

What dream for your family has come true?