Meet 3 Families from Maryland />

  <header role=

Meet 3 Families from Maryland

Lisa of Maryland

Mommy, Daddy, and son. Military family and outdoor lovers and one cat.


Lori of Middletown, Maryland

We are a family of 9, 7 kids aging from 2-21. My husband is retired military and I have been a stay-at-home mom for 20+ years. We love to travel, eat good food and be in nature.


Kimberly H. from Maryland

We have 5 kids - 4 boys and a girly girl. 2 dogs and a cat. Science, sports and reading are favorite things here as well as arts and crafts.

Follow us on Instagram and Facebook.


How do you Timberdoodle?

Lisa: My neighbor introduced me to your company. I love Math-U-See and Spelling You See. They are used everyday for learning.

Lori: We have been using Timberdoodle's 1st grade curriculum this year and absolutely love it! The art and history has been a huge hit, along with all the learning games.

Kimberly: We've known about Timberdoodle for years. Love the videos showing products... We’ve enjoyed many products like the rhyming and doodle book, art kits, STEM activities.


Tell us about a typical school day at your house.

Lisa: School starts around 9:30. About 2-3 subjects covered each day. Chores are after school and so are meals

Lori: We are a very relaxed homeschool family. Some days we do school in the morning and some days we do it in the evening. Some days we skip book work all together and just learn through daily life skills and play. We always try to cover some math and reading daily. Chores are done through out the day along with cooking which the kids love to help.

Kimberly: We start around 9:00ish and incorporate most subjects daily (math, language arts, handwriting, history). We do science and STEM a couple of days a week as well as art and the kids have extra activities throughout the week in the evening.

If we peeked inside your home on a random Wednesday afternoon, what would we see?

Lisa: My son enjoying himself playing outside.

Lori: Lots of art supplies, crayons and loud music going. If the weather is nice, we’re outside riding bikes or exploring in our woods.

Kimberly: Kids sitting around wherever they want working on different things.


If you could take your family anywhere you wanted for vacation where would you go?

Lisa: On a road trip over back country roads

Lori: Germany.

Kimberly: Across the United States hitting historic landmarks and state parks


What books have you read over and over?

Lisa: The series "What is?" books

Lori: Junie B. Jones

Kimberly: Harry Potter, classics, hundreds of picture books


What dietary challenges does your family face?

Lori: None, thankfully.

Kimberly: Keeping sugar intake to a minimum.


What tips do you have for surviving a hard day?

Lisa: Breathe.

Lori: Getting outside and getting fresh air.

Kimberly: Give yourself grace and relax.


What’s something your child has done that thrilled your soul?

Lisa: Doing tasks on his own.

Lori: Shows compassion and empathy to her siblings.

Kimberly: Drawing me notes and pictures, caring for others.

How does your family celebrate birthdays?

Lisa: Cake and letting the birthday person pick what to do.

Lori: We keep it simple with just our family, a special dinner, cake and presents with decorations and all and they usually pick a special place to go to, Hershey Park, etc.

Kimberly: We let the child pick what he/she wants to do that day and what they want to eat - favorite place to go (movies, mini golf...) favorite restaurant or I cook whatever they want. Basically it's their special day.


What have you done recently for the first time?

Lori: Moved and bought our dream home out in the country.

Kimberly: Let my almost-16-year-old drive down the street with me in the car, of course.