Meet 3 Families from South Carolina />

  <header role=

Meet 3 Families from South Carolina

Taylor B. of Fort Mill, South Carolina

I’m a stay-at-home mom to a 6-year-old Lucas and a 3-year-old Rose. My husband works as a pricing manager. (I got him his job then promptly quit mine. LOL) We are Disney World addicts and homeschooling allows us more freedom in our adventures.


Katy Z. of Rock Hill, South Carolina

  • Mom (Katy), stay-at-home mom who enjoys homeschooling, crafting, spending time cooking in the kitchen, and yoga.
  • Dad (Joe), recently medically discharged from Army. Currently climbing cell towers for work that often takes him out of town. Enjoys woodworking, fishing, and hunting.
  • Audrey (4.5 yo), loves art—messier the better, homeschool dance class, Disney princesses, and spending lots of time outside.
  • Wasabi (our dog), small with a mighty bark. Loves sunbathing and snuggling in blankets.


Cimona of Clover, South Carolina

2 girls and one boy I’m a substitute teacher for special needs elementary classes We Love our pets. We have 7, dogs, big and small, 1 bearded dragon, fish, and African dwarf albino frog.


How do you Timberdoodle?

Taylor: I’ve always wanted Timberdoodle and have followed y’all for a few years. Due to budget restraints (single income, working on our debt) we haven’t been able to purchase anything yet.

Katy: Heard about Timberdoodle through Facebook. I love looking at your age-appropriate learning toys. Always great gift ideas! Right now we’re using Mathematical Reasoning Level A and Tiny Polka Dot game from Timberdoodle for our math. She’s currently working on subtracting and doing great.

Cimona: Have special needs daughter whom I homeschool. Between Intellectual Disabled and Autism we needed something fun and engaging in learning.


Tell us about a typical school day at your house.

Taylor: We usually get started around 10:00 a.m. Lots of library visits and hands-on work in the morning. Lunch around 11:00, then a nap/quiet tome for the kids. I work on housework then. Once they’re awake, around 2:00, we do more worksheet type stuff. After that it’s free play etc. Once dad gets home at 5:00 we are done with school stuff and have dinner.

Katy: We usually start around 10:00 a.m. We’re not morning people. Every day we do 3 pages of Mathematical Reasoning Level A and a math game, a lesson from All About Reading Pre-reading, a handwriting page, and focus on a sight word. We do lots of play, reading aloud, weekly art and dance classes, and trips to the library.

Cimona: We cover language arts, math, social studies, science and reading. We start at 7:25 in the morning, but done by noon. Chores are sporadic. One chore specifically gets done in afternoon every day. Others on weekend.


If we peeked inside your home on a random Wednesday afternoon, what would we see?

Taylor: Probably a big mess. The kids might be outside in the woods playing. Or we are working on our “schoolwork” as the kids say.

Katy: See us upstairs in the playroom! Making obstacle courses, playing board games, playing imaginary princess/babies/cooking, and Legos. Always lots of music and singing.

Cimona: Dogs sleeping, dishes being put away from dishwasher.