Meet 4 Families from Oklahoma />
  

  <header role=

Meet 4 Families from Oklahoma

Tamara M. of Guthrie, Oklahoma

Our family consists of a hard-working husband and father, an equally hard-working stay-at-home mom and wife, four wild and wonderful children: William 8, Josephine 7, Scarlett 4, and Cordelia 2. Lastly, our nap-loving pug, Conway.

Kellie B. of Tulsa, Oklahoma

Dad, Mom, Big H and Little H. Dad and Mom are self employed, Big H is a sophomore in college and Little H is a Junior home-educated student. Both H’s were/are home educated.

Missy of Oklahoma

Our family consists of Mom, Dad, Brother, Sister, and Brother and we love science, cooking together, home improvement projects, and being outside!

Leslie of Oklahoma

Mom and Dad - busy with work, homeschooling, travel, and life. Oldest son is in college and working full time. Middle son is homeschooling and working. Baby girl is homeschooling, dancing, and playing volleyball. We have two crazy dogs and a chill turtle.

How do you Timberdoodle?

Tamara: We first heard about Timberdoodle 3 years ago from a friend. We wanted to homeschool our oldest kiddo and fell in love with all the hands-on activities that Timberdoodle offers. It was perfect for our curious and wiggly kindergartener! He's moved on to 3rd grade, but my 3 young daughters all love to get into the Timberdoodle goodies. Magnetic blocks and Inchimals are our favorites. I love that everything can be passed on to the next kid!

Kellie: First heard about Timberdoodle from Google. I was new to home education and was looking for guidance. I reached out to Timberdoodle and was so thankful for the guidance I received. I always recommend Timberdoodle to anyone that asks.

Missy: We love Timberdoodle because they always provide the best curriculum options with LOTS of fun science options!!

Leslie: I have just heard about Timberdoodle and never tried it!

Tell us about a typical school day at your house.

Tamara: Real talk. After my youngest daughter was born I became very overwhelmed with caring for a newborn and homeschooling my older two children. I made the very difficult decision to try public school. While it relieved my stress, I couldn't help but feel sad every morning when I dropped them off at school. I wanted to teach them. I wanted to see their faces light up when they learned something new. Now that my youngest is 2, and not quite as clingy, I feel SO ready to homeschool again. I miss it! Waking up late and not being a slave to someone else's schedule is so freeing. Teaching in jammies is glorious!

Kellie: Since I only have a junior in the house, we are doing typical high school subjects. Start early, do chores when school work and activities are finished.

Missy: Our typical school day begins with breakfast and then some chores around the house. Sometimes we’ll get out and do a field trip to the zoo, science museum, or even a walk or bike ride to the park. Then we do lunch and naps after lunch for the 2 little ones. During that time, mom and big brother do school (reading, writing, spelling, math, and Classical Conversations memory work) for about 2 hours. After that, it’s about time to start on dinner. Fridays are our Classical Conversations community day, so we do that until 1:00 p.m. and take the rest of the day off.

Leslie: We start around 8:00 and jump into school first. Mom does chores while staying close enough to be available if kids need help on school. As they get older, they do more independently, but if Mom isn't around, they can get distracted and get nothing done. We all fend for ourselves for breakfast and lunch and have dinner together. Sometimes dinner is at 6:00 and sometimes it's at 9:00 when we all get back home from activities.

If we peeked inside your home on a random Wednesday afternoon, what would we see?

Tamara: You would see the littles napping and this mama catching up on housework (and TV shows).

Kellie: If you peeked into my home on a Wednesday afternoon you would see Little H studying away and myself doing household chores that need to be taken care of.

Missy: After noon on a Wednesday, we’re having lunch and then naps for the 2 little ones. That’s when mom and big brother begin school!

Leslie: Middle son would have gone to work and Mom/daughter would be finishing up school. After school, we would throw some laundry in and watch something together on YouTube before Mom starts working (from home).



Tags


0 comments

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published